Embracing Grace

IMG_1604.JPG

The Cambodian countryside – isn’t it beautiful?

I have been at my placement site for just over a month now!  Actually, that’s not entirely true — I’ve been travelling a lot due to holidays and a workshop with Life with Dignity.  Settling into my host community has certainly been different than I expected.  It’s been really exciting to learn about my new community and coworkers but if I’m really being honest, it hasn’t been easy either.

I love trying new things and experiencing the world but I also get intimidated pretty easily.  This presents a whole new challenge when I’m trying to live and work in another country, speaking a totally different language!

I often will try speaking (short sentences only at this point) in Khmer only to be met with a confused look.  This is so disheartening for me, particularly when I think I’ve figured out how to say a new word or phrase.  It makes me want to give up, to find someone who speaks English and have them translate for me.  How crazy was I to think that I could ever learn how to communicate well in Khmer?

These feelings were so overwhelming that in my first week, I didn’t speak very much.  I was happy to go through the day listening to everyone, hoping I could pick up Khmer that way and that at some point, I would suddenly be able to speak in perfect, beautiful Khmer.

But then I was reminded of something that I need during this year in Cambodia: grace.

One of my coworkers stopped me before dinner on my first Thursday in Phnom Kravanh said to me, “Do you miss your home?”  I said, “A little bit, but not too much!” trying to communicate that I was indeed enjoying my time here.  Then he said, “Are you shy?”.  I wasn’t quite sure what he was getting at but I replied, “Yeah, I guess so.  But not once I get to know everyone and figure out my way around Kravanh!”  He nodded and replied, “I don’t think you should be shy”.  Then, he proceeded to show me pictures of his family and went downstairs for dinner.

At first, I was pretty confused by what he meant.  But then, I realized that he (and probably the rest of my coworkers) didn’t expect me to speak perfect Khmer.  They just wanted me to try, to be with them.  I was already forgetting the main reason I’m here (refer to previous blog)!

I realized I wanted to avoid speaking Khmer because I was scared of messing up, scared of being wrong, scared of offending someone, scared of sounding stupid.  Which is ridiculous because I will mess up, I will be wrong, I will offend someone, I will sound stupid.  I’m not here to be perfect.  I’m here to learn from and to build relationships with the people I have been called to serve and I can’t do that without embracing grace.  I know I am so undeserving of the many instances of grace I have already received, which is the entire point, but it isn’t always easy to accept.  I often like to think I’m a strong, confident, independent young woman and while these things may be true, going abroad and serving in another country is such a humbling experience.  In a lot of ways, I am utterly useless in Cambodia.  I need to be able to accept moments of grace from God, my coworkers, the other YAGM in my cohort, my country coordinators, and myself.

So after the conversation with my coworker, I marched downstairs and proceeded to eat with my coworkers.  I tried out a few words and tried to ask questions.  I listened, I smiled.  I laughed when they laughed, hoping I wasn’t laughing along at something inappropriate!  I can’t promise that my Khmer stellar now but I do my best to learn something new every day and I try not to worry about making a fool of myself.

As Charlie Chaplin once said, “Failure is unimportant.  It takes courage to make a fool of yourself.”  Have courage and I hope you will be able to accept grace in your life as well.

-Amanda

4 comments

  1. micaelajill · October 19, 2016

    Amanda! I’m glad to hear you are well and pray that God continues to help you accept grace from God and those around you. I resonate with your post so deeply and have been learning to give myself permission to make mistakes with my Spanish too. Your post is actually incredibly similar to the one I just posted. Even though we’re having such unique experiences, it’s reassuring to know that YAGMs in other programs are processing the same feelings as me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amanda · October 19, 2016

      Thanks so much Micaela! Yes, I read your blog & thought the same thing! I’m glad you are learning & growing too even if it’s challenging at times! 😊

      Like

  2. Debra Roy · October 20, 2016

    Hi Amanda!
    Oh, I just wanted to hug you and tell you that you NAILED it! It doesn’t matter that your new language is way less than perfect! Grace IS the point, and patience with yourself and this new ‘world’. Having hosted several Japanese young students in the past, we were a bit dismayed (to say the least) when they would not try speaking English, and would not try communicating with us… We used a lot of gestures, smiles, and encouraging gestures, but…often, our new “son” or “daughter” would shy away and not participate in family activities. Only much later in their month-long stay would they attempt speaking in English. We learned from the chaperones that these young people had the same fear you did—fear of failure, of sounding “stupid’, etc…. How we LOVED it when they simply TRIED to speak and communicate! We didn’t care a hoot if it was less than perfect. It was so much fun to finally be able to address each other, even though it was slow going at first. So—don’t worry about being perfect. Just embrace the language, and try everyday (as you so wisely stated) to learn a new phrase. Be willing to laugh at yourself. It WILL all come together. We pray for your continued strength, your wise realizations, and your sense of humor. You are EXACTLY where God wants you to be. You will learn so much from all this, and will in turn, be an instrument of God’s grace.
    May peace be in your heart. You are in our prayers. (You GO, Girl! 🙂 ) —-From Th
    e Roys

    Like

    • Amanda · October 21, 2016

      Thank you for sharing that story! It definitely can be tough but you’re right, it will all come together in time! Thank you for your support & prayers, it means the world!

      Like

Leave a Reply

